Tic Tac Toe

Hello,

I’m a software programmer who wants to learn how to use machine learning. I’m starting with zero knowledge of AI.

The idea of reinforcement learning seems really attractive to me, so I’d like to start there if possible.

Using OpenAI, I want to make a simple tic tac toe bot, with the goal of grasping the fundamentals.

Where do I start?

Depends how you like to learn. I started with a Udacity course: https://classroom.udacity.com/courses/ud600 and went on to read Reinforcement Learning: An Introduction. For me that has been a theory-heavy approach and I only recently wrote a TicTacToe bot (using Q-learning). However, when I did get around to writing it, I was very confident about what I was doing and why.

The starting point in OpenAI could be to follow a tutorial on one of the other simple environments (e.g. CartPole) - of which there are many online, and once you understand that, try changing the environment to TicTacToe and adapting the code to learn that.

At some point you will need to take a detour from “pure” reinforcement learning and learn at least a little supervised machine learning. Andrew Ng’s course on Coursera might be a good start for that.

You may want to brush up on basic stats, calculus and linear algebra (matrices, vectors etc). You don’t need to know them in great depth, but the basics are essential to understanding the theory and taking things further - both in reinforcement learning and supervised learning.

My recommended concepts progression progression of things your should learn and try

• Biological Neurones and Neural Networks (NN)
  • Artificial perceptron
  • Artificial Neural Network (Weights, Activation, forward feed, back propagation)
  • Exercise check point
    • build a very simple NN without any library (plenty of examples out there)
    • build an NN to to do simple classifications (with or without library)